We just completely updated our website. Let us know if you are encountering any issues.

Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy

The nine Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains) of northern Italy are groups of chapels and other architectural features created in the late 16th and 17th centuries and dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic spiritual meaning, they are of great beauty by virtue of the skill with which they have been integrated into the surrounding natural landscape of hills, forests and lakes. They also house much important artistic material in the form of wall paintings and statuary.

Criteria for inclusion as a World Heritage Site

iiTo exhibit an important interchange of human values, over a span of time or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning or landscape design. All
ivTo be an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates (a) significant stage(s) in human history. All



World Heritage Sites Brutalisms Atlas Obscuras Audio Guides News
The historical centre of Mendrisio de en fr it 18.6km site_izi
Como: Free Audioguide de en es fr it 201919.2km site_izi
Varenna Cemetery 201910km site_ao
The Balcony of Italy 201813.8km site_ao
The Red House 201717.1km site_ao
Setificico Paolo Carcano 196819.9km site_brutalism
Casa Costioli 15.1km site_brutalism
Casa Corinna 17.4km site_brutalism
Casa Cate 195717.7km site_brutalism
Casa Giuliana 16.5km site_brutalism

About the source: UNESCO

Within UNESCO's broad remit, this specialised agency of the UN works towards international cooperation agreements to secure the world's cultural and natural heritage, designating venues of exceptional value as World Heritage Sites.