Lake Fusaro was once a swamp, until the 18th century when it was used to cultivate mussels and oysters. Under the Bourbon King of Naples, Ferdinand IV, it became the private hunting and fishing reserve of the royal family, who built this impossibly charming hunting lodge on a tiny island on the lake.
Completed in 1782, the hunting lodge is composed of three intersecting octagons and almost looks like a pagoda. It was built on a preexisting islet that formerly housed an old building used as a storage room for fishing equipment. The Casina, or “cottage” is connected to the mainland by a wooden pier. A small garden stands across the bridge with various flower beds and a rich vegetation.
|Procida: Island of the Cinema en it||7.4km||site_izi|
|ROUTE: maritime villages of Procida en es fr it||6.5km||site_izi|
|The three beauties of Procida en es fr it||9.6km||site_izi|
|A ride to Procida en es fr it||6.6km||site_izi|
|The Phlegraean Fields de en fr it||5.2km||site_izi|
|Cave of Dogs||2018||9.5km||site_ao|
|Flavian Amphitheater of Pozzuoli||2018||5.7km||site_ao|
|Upside-Down Fig Tree||2016||1.1km||site_ao|
About the source: Atlas Obscura
Atlas Obscura aims 'to inspire wonder and curiosity about the incredible world we all share'. You can contribute to their collection on their website.