Place Qom

Qom Province , pre-Islamic Komishan/Qomishan, is one of the 31 provinces of Iran with 11,237 km², covering 0.89% of the total area in Iran. It is in the northern portion of the country, and its provincial capital is the city of Qom. It was formed from part of Tehran Province in 1995. In 2011, the province had a population of 1,151,672 out of which 95.2% resided in urban areas and 4.8% in rural vicinities. The province contains the cities of Qom, Jafariyeh, Dastjerd, Kahak, Qanavat & Salafchegan.
The province was designated as part of Region 1 following the division of Iranian provinces into 5 regions which took place on June 22, 2014 for the purposes of coordination and development.

Keep track of the places you have been, log in.
Atlas Obscura 2018
Fatemeh Maasoume Shrine

Discover Fatemeh Maasoume Shrine in Qom, Iran: One of the holiest Shi'i shrines in Iran honors the life and death of a learned noblewoman who became a saint.

Atlas Obscura 2018
Deir-e Gachin Caravanserai

Discover Deir-e Gachin Caravanserai in Iran: One of the largest and oldest caravansaries in Persia.

Atlas Obscura 2018
Bazaar of Kashan

Discover Bazaar of Kashan in Kashan, Iran: A historic trade hub teeming with gorgeous architecture, colorful goods, and vibrant designs.

Atlas Obscura 2017
Nushabad Underground City

Discover Nushabad Underground City in Nushabad, Iran: A 1,500-year-old, 3-story subterranean city where ancient Persians took refuge in times of war.

Post 2019
Imagining Skyscrapers in Iran’s Ancient Architecture